The LIBER Award for Library Innovation was instituted by LIBER with support from OCLC. It recognizes the three abstracts which best describe innovative work within the overall theme of the Annual Conference.

The criteria (in order of importance) for the Award are:

  • Level of innovation
  • Impact on the wider library community
  • Originality
  • Quality of the abstract

The three abstracts which best fulfil these criteria are selected by the Conference Programme Committee. The Award comprises the opportunity to present the winning paper at the LIBER Annual Conference, free Conference registration, and travel expenses and accommodation*. The three winners will receive their Awards during a short ceremony at the LIBER Annual Conference.

The Conference Programme Committee for the 46th LIBER Annual Conference has decided to present the 2017 LIBER Award for Library Innovation to:

  • Jens Vigen, CERN, Switzerland, Kristin Antelman, Caltech, USA and Alexander Nietzold, Tind Technologies, Norway “Risk Aversion Narrows the Future of Libraries”
  • Lotte Wilms, National Library of the Netherlands, Michiel Cock, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, The Netherlands and Ben Companjen, Leiden University, The Netherlands “Digital Humanities Clinics – Leading Dutch Librarians into DH”
  • Iva Adlerová, Czech Technical University in Prague, Czech Republic and Lenka Němečková, Charles University in Prague, Czech Republic “University Library & Publishing House Synergy as a Solution to the Academic Publishing Puzzle”

We congratulate the Award winners

*The value of each Award is € 1,000, including the Conference registration fee.

One thought on “LIBER Award

Leave a Reply